The Japanese Pharmacological Society

Latest News From the Japanese Pharmacological Society

JMAJ 56(3): 206-207, 2013

Hiroshi IWAO*1

The Japanese Pharmacological Society was established in 1927 to promote the development and awareness of pharmacology. It became a public interest incorporated association in 2012 and marked its 86th anniversary this year. It has approximately 5,000 members. The society holds seven scientific meetings a year—one general assembly and six regional meetings—and publishes two academic journals each month: the Nihon Yakurigaku Zasshi (Folia Pharmacologica Japonica) in Japanese and the Journal of Pharmacological Science (JPS) in English. In recent years, the number of papers submitted from other Asian countries to the JPS has reached about 40% while the overall number of submissions from outside Japan has reach about 50%, highlighting the journal's internationalization. In 2018 the society, under Chairman Shu Narumiya, will co-host with the Japanese Society of Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics the World Conference of Basic and Clinical Pharmacology (WorldPharma 2018) in Kyoto.

In 2007, the society established the Setsuro Ebashi Award in commemoration of the visionary international research of Dr. Setsuro Ebashi. This award is given to a member of the society who has conducted exceptional international research. In 2008 it was given to Professor Shinya Yamanaka, a researcher who won the Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine in 2012. The following are the past recipients, all of whom have made international achievements and contributed to the progress of pharmacology:

1st recipient (2007): Professor Tomoh Masaki



Special lecture by Professor Shinya Yamanaka (83rd Annual Convention of the Japanese Pharmacological Society in March 2010)

(Adjunct Professor, Tokyo Women's Medical University, Emeritus Professor, Tsukuba University and Kyoto University) for the discovery of endothelin and the oxidized LDL receptor through molecular pharmacological analysis of vascular smooth muscle and endothelial cells.

2nd recipient (2008): Professor Shinya Yamanaka (Director of the Center for iPS Cell Research and Application, Institute for Integrated Cell-Material Sciences, Kyoto University) for the establishment of pluripotential stem cells from the initialization of somatic cells.

3rd recipient (2009): Professor Kazuhide Inoue (Department of Molecular and System Pharmacology, Graduate School of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Kyushu University) for neuropharmacological research on the physiological functions of ATP receptors.

4th recipient (2010): Professor Masayoshi Mishina (Department of Molecular Neurobiology and Pharmacology, Graduate School of Medicine, the University of Tokyo) for research into glutamate receptors and brain function.

5th recipient (2011): Professor Shuh Narumiya (Department of Neuro- and Cell Pharmacology, Graduate School of Medicine, Kyoto University) for research into prostaglandin receptors and low molecular weight G protein Rho.

6th recipient (2012): Professor Masamitsu Iino (Department of Cellular and Molecular

^{*1} President, The Japanese Pharmacological Society, Tokyo, Japan; Professor, Department of Pharmacology, Osaka City University Medical School, Osaka Japan (iwao@med.osaka-cu.ac.ip).

Pharmacology, Graduate School of Medicine, the University of Tokyo) for research into the spatiotemporal dynamics and function of Ca²⁺ signaling.

I would also recommend to see the society's website (http://plaza.umin.ac.jp/JPS1927/english/index.html) for details on its activities.

JMAJ, May/June 2013—Vol.56, No.3 207